Sad Stuff

This post was inspired by the wonderful Luke at http://www.fantasybeyond.com/urbanknight/blogger.html. I’m in a pissy mood due to relationship shit so a sad post is right down my alley.

Here are my “tearjerkers” in different catagories:

Songs:

Time in a Bottle – Jim Croce – His death makes this song so much more poignant to me.

Mercy, Mercy Me – Marvin Gaye.

Miss Saigon, The Cast Album– almost every song on the album brings me to tears. Now that I’ve Seen Her – I Still Believe – There are so many – these songs are heartbreaking – I can’t listen to the album without crying.

Renee – Lost Boyz – It’s like a punch in the stomach for me.

Janie’s Got a Gun – Aerosmith – Another punch in the stomach. They made us face the realities of “Middle America.”

Stan – Eminem – heartbreaking. Genius.

Books:

Death Be Not Proud – John Gunther – I read this in high school and I still grieve for his son.

Angela’s Ashes – Frank McCourt – the descriptions of life for his family broke my heart. I cried for Frank as a little boy.

The Color Purple – Alice Walker – I had to stop and start and stop and start – I cried repeatedly.

The Joy Luck Club – Amy Tan (also The Kitchen God’s Wife, The Hundred Secret Senses) – she’s a great writer who has pulled me into the Chinese culture.

Feast of All Saints – Anne Rice – early college days – it really moved me.

A Seperate Peace – John Knowles – this was back in high school and I cried for a long, long time.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Sad Stuff

  1. Amadeo

    No Sade?!? I Never Though I’d See the Day has always been one of my curl-up-and-die favorites.

    On the nerd tip…the story to Final Fantasy X was a tear jerker…I can’t even get into it, but when that joint ends I just think that would have been a great movie

  2. dirk.mancuso

    Sorry to hear you are encountering some relationship bumps in the road.

    Here’s a big hug to help you out of your funk and a few of my own tearjerkers…

    SONGS:
    “I’m Moving On” – Rascal Flatts

    “What Hurts the Most” – Rascal Flatts

    “Nothing Compares 2 U” – Sinead O’Connor

    BOOKS:
    “Memoirs of a Geisha” – Arthur Golden. (Mr. Nobu breaks my heart every time I read this.)

    MOVIES:
    The Object of My Affection (hasn’t everyone fell for that one impossible love?)

    Brokeback Mountain (the ending never ceases to have me tearing up…and that music!)

    Life is a House

  3. diane

    So glad I’m not the only one that tears up listening to “Time in a Bottle.”
    “Moon River” has made me weep since I was a child!

  4. heartinsanfrancisco

    I can’t do this right now. I’m starting to cry just thinking about it. But I agree with all your choices except Anne Rice, which I haven’t read.

  5. Cibbuano

    The Joy Luck Club is a piece of work, eh? It’s almost infuriating at times!

Leave a Reply

