You Pick ’em Film Festival Stuff

Pick your top 5 from the list below. (Yeah – I know your personal favorite may not be listed – but just do it MY way)

Snatch
Lock, Stock and 3 Smoking Barrels
Trainspotting
A Walk In The Clouds
Babe
Clueless
Tombstone
Monsters, Inc.
Finding Forrester
Disney’s Beauty and Beast
Men of Honor
The Color Purple

Now add 5 movies that are your favorites – it’s okay if they’re duplicates of some of mine.

I want to hold an online film festival – the top movies here (and on your blogs if you want to participate) will be viewed in the month of October and we can discuss them.

To particiapte: post your favorite films and ask your readers to pick 5 of yours and add 5 of their own. We should be able to come up with the top 5 films from all participants based on list duplications. Please drop me a line if you want to do this and I’ll count your blog’s results. We’ll post the names of the movies at the end of September.

31 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

31 responses to “You Pick ’em Film Festival Stuff

  1. Christina_the_wench

    I am already behind in doing special stuff for my blog, but here are my answers.

    Yours
    Tombstone
    Clueless
    The Color Purple
    Monsters, Inc.
    Beauty & the Beast

    Mine
    On Golden Pond
    Miracle
    Grumpy Old Men
    Crash
    Billy Madison

  2. CapCity

    this sounds like too much work – so, i’ll just tell U my faves:

    From Your list:
    *SNATCH!!
    *L,S&3 smoking Barrels – even tho’ i haven’t seen it yet. LOL! I like Snatch enough for the both of them!!
    *Babe
    *F.Forrester = main character’s a cutie AND he’s really as smart as portrayed in the film;-)
    *Men of Honor (though i haven’t seen walk in the clouds & i hear that’s a great one…)

    My OWN Faves:
    *Cleopatra Jones!!
    *Daddy’s Little Girls!!
    *Love Jones!!
    *Piece of the Action/Uptown Sat.Nite/Let’s Do it Again (i know that’s cheating – but i love those Poitier/Cosby films!!;-)
    *Payback – only cuz this was a sleeper (really prefer the below over this, but…)

    (it was tuff keeping it to five – specially since i LOVE the Blaxploitation period – Cotton Comes to Harlem, Come Back Charleston Blue, Bingo Long….etc., etc…..*SIGH*;-)

  3. Lightning Bug's Butt

    Tombstone
    Babe
    Clueless
    The Color Purple
    Monsters, Inc.

    The Shining
    Office Space
    Godfather 1
    Godfather 2
    Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure

  4. Tony

    Requiem for a Dream
    Dancer in the Dark
    Exorcist
    Monty Python: Holy Grail
    Moulin Rouge

  5. ~Macarena~

    Jali, you’re a genius!

    Your list:
    Clueless
    Disney’s Beauty and Beast
    A Walk In The Clouds

    Mine:
    Grosse Pointe Blank
    Ordinary People
    Say Anything
    The Usual Suspects
    WarGames

  6. Luke Cage

    That’s why I love you Jali. We could probably talk about movies for hours. I’m loving this.. Okay, here goes:
    Snatch
    Lock, Stock and 3 Smoking Barrels
    Tombstone
    Men of Honor
    The Color Purple

    My Favorites are:
    Die Hard
    Aliens
    Malcolm X
    Spider-man
    Fight Club

  7. Nikol

    I can’t choose favorites; I have too many!! But here are a few (I know, I’m not following directions – Sorry!).

    The Shawshank Redemption
    Meet Joe Black
    The Cider House Rules
    Finding Neverland
    The Hours

    HOWEVER…I also LOVE your choices of The Color Purple, Men of Honor and Trainspotting.

    Movies, Movies, they’re the best!

  8. Mega Rich

    As soon as I think I have them, they change because I read someone elses. Maybe what I should do is just give a long list because movies are my thing. I don’t do network TV, but you best believe I’m getting to Blockbuster.

  9. Mega Rich

    ok, i’m back – out of yours (since I haven’t seen the one’s everyone is raving about) I’ll take

    Tombstone
    Finding Forrester
    The Color Purple

    My top five and this is a stretch (it really depends on my mood)

    1. Shawshank Redemption
    2. Gladiator
    3. The Sandlot (the first one)
    4. Hitch or Jerry McGuire (I had to slip another one in some kinda way)

    5. Shooter/Italian Job/National Treasure (they all kind of give me the same feel)

    Don’t break the rules, just bend them.

  10. Amadeo

    Yours:
    Tombstone
    Snatch
    Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels
    Finding Forrester
    Men Of Honor

    Mine:
    Opposite of Sex
    Empire Strikes Back
    The Departed
    Aliens
    The Professional

  11. ~d

    Yours:
    Snatch
    Babe
    Trainspotting
    The Color Purple
    Disney’s B&B

    Mine:
    Saw
    Emperor’s New Groove
    Pecker
    Search For One-Eyed Jimmy
    Jumpin Jack Flash

  12. ~d

    WAIT!
    CRAP!
    Can I say ummm
    Usual Suspects instead of Jumpin Jack Flash???

  13. ~d

    OOhhh!
    AND I want to cast a vote for Ummm
    The Professional…and Shawshank Redemption!
    Meet Joe Black
    and
    Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventures

    (I kno-I suck a$$! But, omi! Some people listed movies I totally love!)

    WHOOPS!

  14. miss tracey nolan

    Movies! Yay!

    From your list:

    Monsters, Inc.
    The Color Purple
    Snatch
    Tombstone
    Clueless

    My list:

    Malcolm X
    The Apartment
    Manhattan
    American Splendor
    Duck Soup

  15. Kiyotoe

    okay, here we go…
    your list:
    Snatch
    Tombstone
    Finding Forrester
    The Color Purple
    Beauty and the Beast 😉

    My list:
    Legends of the Fall
    American History X
    The Breakfast Club
    Glory
    The Last Samurai

  16. CapCity

    ok, i’m trading in L,S & Smoking Barrels for Tombstone – just watched it & much as I love Sting…it wasn’t as good as Snatch to me. I LOVE the boxing in Snatch! plus i LOVVVEEEE the brother Lennie James – he is SUCH a CUTIEEE!

  17. Cleopatra Toson

    Yours:

    Snatch
    Finding Forrester
    Men of Honor
    The Color Purple
    Trainspotting

    Mine:
    Shawshank Redemption
    Blow
    The Five Heartbeats
    Enter the Dragon (Bruce Lee is HOT!)
    Troy/300 (I love both equally and they’re the same type of movie)

  18. Elaine

    yours:
    Tombstone
    Monsters,Inc
    Clueless
    Trainspotting
    Disney’s Beauty and The Beast

    Mine:
    Requiem For A Dream
    The Story Of Us
    The Legend of Billie Jean
    Steel Magnolias
    Rocky

  19. phishez_rule

    Oh, yeah. I’m up for it. I’ll do mine in a post in a couple of days.

    Excellent idea!

  20. Melanie

    Yours:
    The Color Purple
    Beauty and the Beast
    Babe
    Finding Forrester
    A Walk in the Clouds

    Mine:
    Raising Arizona
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    Strictly Ballroom
    Rocky Horror Picture Show
    The Big Blue

    obscure. yea I know.

  21. miss tracey nolan

    Melanie! To Kill a Mockingbird! Of course! God, I love that movie…

  22. Elaine

    dang it sorry. I have to replace Legend Of Billie Jean with Amadeus. I cant’ believe I forgot that movie. After watching it, I wanted to don a white wig, start composing music and play the piano backwards.

  23. tim

    Hey there – I’m finally getting round to replying to replying to a comment you left for me a few weeks ago. Thanks for the support! I’ll (eventually) get a new post going and let you know what’s going on with the proposal…

  24. heartinsanfrancisco

    I haven’t seen most of them, but loved The Color Purple.

    My all-time favorite movie is Casablanca.

    Rebel Without a Cause
    The Crying Game
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    What’s Eating Gilbert Grape?

  25. Trebuchet

    Look at creative ‘lil you!! Cool, Jali!

    Finding Forrester
    Tombstone
    Lock Stock
    Snatch
    Trainspotting

    Mine:
    Tombstone
    Big Fish
    Amelie
    The Big Lebowski
    A River Runs Through It

  26. Superstar

    Yours:
    Monsters Inc
    A Walk in the clouds
    Men of Honor
    Clueless
    The color Purple

    Mine
    Gone in 60 seconds
    National Tresure
    Armageddon
    A River Runs Through it
    Harry Potter series

  27. Camille Alexa

    Snatch
    Lock, Stock…
    Trainspotting
    Babe
    Beauty and the Beast

    * * *

    Bliss
    Spirited Away
    Snatch
    12 Monkeys
    Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

  28. James Burnett

    Snatch, Trainspotting, Babe, Men of Honor, The Color Purple.

    And my picks – Devil in a Blue Dress, The First Olympics, Boys in the Hood, The Bourne Identity, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon.

  29. Mega Rich

    How could have forgotten The Five Heartbeats. I watch that at least once a year.

  30. awaiting

    The Color Purple
    Clueless
    Babe
    Monsters, Inc
    Beauty and the Beast

    The Color Purple
    The Descent
    The Butterfly Effect
    Tale of Two Sisters (korean film)
    Imitation Of Life

  31. Mega Rich

    I meant to tell you, I enjoyed Snatch and Lock Stock and 3 Smoking Barrels.

Leave a Reply

