Mo’ Better Retread Stuff…

…or these are a few of my favorite things.

I did this about a year ago, and being out of new and original subject matter, I’ve decided to repost some of my old shit. Well, I’m not re-posting word for word – some of my responses may have changed.

While we generally root for the hero of a movie or television show, the villain sometimes captures our interest and makes or breaks a storyline. I can’t imagine any of the following without these outstanding characters.

I’m breaking this up into catagories and I’ll start with my favorite movie villains:

Alonzo Harris – Training Day

Lumburg – Office Space

Brick Top – Snatch

Mister – The Color Purple

Begbie – Trainspotting

Hans Gruber – Die Hard

Randolph and Mortimer – Trading Places

Castor Troy – Face Off

Albert Ganz– 48 Hours

I’ll continue with my favorite villians of the small screen:

Dr. Zachary Smith – Lost in Space

Stringer Bell – The Wire

Livia Soprano – The Sopranos

Diana – V (the miniseries from the 1980s)

Lois’ Mother – Malcolm in The Middle

My next catagory is animated villains:

Mr. Sinister – X-Men, The Animated Series

Gargamel – The Smurfs

Lord Farquad – Shrek

Mum-ra – Thundercats

Skeletor – He-Man

Of course in writing about villains, we can’t forget books:

The Harkonnens – Dune

The Mule – The Foundation Series

Arienrhod – The Snow Queen

Glawen Clattuc/Smonny Clattuc – Araminta Station

I know, I know. I didn’t name your favorite villain. Tell me about it.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Mo’ Better Retread Stuff…

  1. Why, oh, why, do you like Mister and Hans Gruber?

    I too like Castor Troy, but mainly because I was a big Nicolas Cage fan and still prefer him to Travolta. I also hated the whole soap-y deal where the boy’s parents had to die so he could replace Travolta’s son.

  2. Lex

    I’m with you on Gargamel, but Skeletor scared me. I was, what? THREE?!?! – OK, just kidding. I was nine.

    Um, favorite villains? Can’t say I’ve ever thought about it. I can’t think of any.

  3. Alan Rickman as the Sheriff of Nottingham in The Prince of Thieves. He blew Whatsisname Costner right out of the water for sexiness. Phwoooar!

  4. Ooh…I liked this post! I just read a book on Loki, the god of mischief in Norse mythology, and it was EXCELLENT!!! I think he just became my favorite comic book villain!

  5. Awa

    Ok, my favorite movie villian (and this is going to be uber cheesey–aight!) was Billy Zane as the Devil in Demon Knights…dude was sexy as hell (literally) in that movie. Now I search for his pics on Ebay.

    Okay, not really, but he is hella fi-uhn!

  6. Hans Gruber is the quintessential greatest villain of the 80’s. Sarcastic, mischievous, smart, cunning and quite funny. “I must have missed that 60 minutes, what are you saying?” – “Your mister Takagi did not see it that way, so he will not be joining us for the rest of his life.” -LMBAO!!! Kisses Jali!

  7. LBB

    I was just thinking about Diana from “V” a couple days ago. Cool.

  8. Snatch is a classic, what about city of god

  9. FILM: Alex Forrest – Fatal Attraction; Prince Humperdinck – The Princess Bride

    TELEVISION: Evil Angel – Buffy the Vampire Slayer; Sheila Carter – Young and the Restless

    ANIMATED: Frollo – Disney’s Hunchback of Notre Dame; Ursula – The Little Mermaid

    BOOKS: Voldemort – The Harry Potter Series; Hatsumomo – Memoirs of a Geisha

  10. C

    I like your new digs!

Leave a Reply

