Cali Stuff

I’ve been to California to visit my sister Lynda (does this sound like the old, ‘my dog ate my homework” line to you guys?).

Lynnie lives in a small town, Livermore http://www.ci.livermore.ca.us/ , which sort of reminds me of the town in the movie Doc Hollywood, but with much higher property values and a more diverse population.

Livermore is in a canyon and from her backyard bridge (her husband Mark is a good builder, one of his many talents) I watched unbelievable sunsets over the distant mountains. I didn’t capture the view with my camera (duh) so I’ll have to ask her to send my some photos so that I can post them.

Lynnie and Mark have 2 children, the lovely Lorraine (named after the writer Hansbury) and Mark, Jr., who showed me cool-Cali teen mode for most of my visit. Rainie is outspoken and straightforward but also very sweet and funny. Mark, Jr. doesn’t break character too often but once and a while he drops the cool and he’s a sweetheart too.

Mark’s mother Christine lives with the family and she and I hit it off immediately. We share the love of coffee and ciggies first thing in the morning so it became our routine for the week I was there. It’s great to make a new friend!

My sister and I look alike (so we’ve been told) and we love each other, but we are very different. I hadn’t seen her in a couple of years and wasn’t sure how a whole week together would work out.

Lynnie is settled and mature and plans things. I’m immature and spontaneous. Lynda has been married once and is determined to make it last forever and she’s very happy. I’ve been divorced twice so far, lived with others, and dated a few more and I’m very happy. She goes to Bible study – I go to Open Mic nights. She goes to church every Sunday – I roller skate religiously. 

We both love to read and Lynda told me that she’s joined a writers group at her church so there are things we have in common. We also share memories of our family vacations and family arguments. We spent quite a bit of time saying, “…remember the time Grandma said…” or “…remember the time you snuck out and got busted…” and laughing or crying at those memories. We pulled out her VOLUMES (maybe 8 or 9) of photos and sat together laughing and crying again, reliving days that touched us both.

We are orphans now  (we both say this). My dad died in 1982 and my mom in 2000. Our elder sister, Jackie has been gone since 2003. We are all that are left of our immediate family and I’m glad that, despite our differences, we were able to enjoy each other for a whole week.

I’ll tell you about my travel next – being a cheapskate is tough on the bootie!

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Cali Stuff

  1. Miz

    Wow, that was a great read, i love how you all are so opposite but can find something you both like, you had me laughing on “she goes to Bible study, i go to open mike”. Sounds like a fun trip, hope to see you on June 7th. Hey i need your email adddy too!

  2. Lex

    I’m glad you enjoyed it. I was concerned (about your irreverent a$$).

  3. Never heard of Livermore, but it sounds lovely with the sunset and the mountains. Nice.

  4. I’m glad you and your sister got along so well after having been apart for so long, and having such different styles. Maybe it’s because your personalities compliment each other ;0)

    P.S. This is a link to the poem:

    http://paymentdue.blogspot.com/2008/04/obamaone-pretty-badd-mofo.html

  5. So you were in the Bay Area and you didn’t call me.

    I’m so glad that you and Lynda have each other. Sometimes, differences can make siblings closer, maybe because there is no sense of competition. And I love that she goes to church while you roller skate religiously. I doubt God cares how we find completion as long as we do.

  6. sounds like my family – my sibs and i rarely see each other, but when we do it’s like we’ve not been apart. And…can’t wait to hear the stories involved with cheapness being tough on your bootie 🙂

  7. waaah, you were in cali? next time, screw the price of gas, visit the midget in san diego! (just kidding…how dare i say that to cheap jali! ahaha)

  8. Do you know how incredibly lucky you are to have visited this sister who is so different…and shared a smoke with her mother-in-law? Savoring each and every moment–we should each make a vow to just do just this. Actually, I think I’m the one who has to learn this.

  9. Awww! I’m so glad you got a chance to spend time with family.

  10. These photos are the best. The last one in particular made me smile all goofily wide.

    Glad you had such a good time, hun.

Leave a Reply

