Kid Talk Stuff

I’ve said each and every one of the words listed below in italics.

Cross my heart, hope to die, stick a needle in my eye. Stick a WHAT in my WHAT?!! The adult in me is appalled at the language but I remember earnestly saying the words aloud so that whoever I was lying to would believe my lies. I don’t think I ever really considered what a needle in my eye might do.

If I should die before I wake, I pray the Lord my soul to take.  Wait a minute. We teach our babies to say this before we leave them in the bedroom alone…in the dark. If I should DIE. WTF? I said it but never thought about it. If I had given it any thought I would never have slept. Never.

Step on a crack, you’ll break your mother’s back.  I loved my mommy dearly, but I wasn’t particularly vigilant in avoiding the many cracks in the sidewalks in my neighborhood. My poor mom was just lucky I guess.

We would eat nasty dirty food that had fallen on the ground as long as we kissed it up to God. We would literally kiss the food and raise it up (similar to the iconic scene in The Lion King) to God.  Ready to eat.

What did you guys say as kids that sounds shocking to your adult ear?

Oh:

Adults sing this to their newborns to lull them to sleep gently: Rock a bye baby on the TREE TOP when the wind blows the cradle will rock, when the bough breaks THE CRADLE WILL FALL and DOWN WILL COME BABY CRADLE AND ALL. wtf???

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

